Facebook Account Security – The Privacy Debate Continues

by Lisa Sullivan on August 6, 2010

in Uncategorized

I cannot remember where I saw the reference to this.  Although, I think it’s safe to say it was in one of my friends’ status updates.  You know, the kind where they post the “how to change___” with step-by-step instructions.  In any event, when I saw this particular “how to” I paid attention because I hadn’t seen it before.  I mean, I knew it existed but I guess I didn’t understand the implications of it and most people are probably not aware either.

Let me start by saying, I’m a privacy nut when it comes to Facebook.  But, let me also say that I completely understand that anything I put online is out there regardless.  I get that.  When it comes to privacy on Facebook particularly, I’m a stickler for it.   So, when one of my friends updated the “how to secure your account” message, I listened and I secured my account.  I’m glad I did, too.

FBAcctSecurity

What exactly does it mean by securing your account and more importantly, why do you need to?

To quote Facebook -

To help keep your Facebook account as safe as possible, we can notify you when your account is accessed from a computer or mobile device that you haven’t used before.

You access this feature through your Account Settings under (appropriately) Account Security.  When you click “Yes” under the question that asks you if you’d like to receive notifications for logins from new devices, every time you login from a new device (i.e. mobile device, an unfamiliar computer, etc.), Facebook will ask you during that process to name the device and then promptly send you a notification that a new device has been registered.  This also refers to some additional social media accounts (i.e. Posterous)  if you hadn’t already connected them.

FBAcctSecurityEmail

At first, I didn’t pay any attention to this because I didn’t see that it was necessary.  Then, I gave it a second thought.  Perhaps it’s paranoia or perhaps it’s just common sense.  No matter what, it’s still yet another way to keep your privacy safe.

What I like about it is (while granted my notifications have been because I personally have logged in from various devices/accounts) knowing that should someone else make the attempt, I will be notified quickly so that I can then, in turn, change my settings as quickly.  There’s security in that.

For the small business person who is the primary owner of their company’s Fan Page with which a personal account has to be associated, I would think this feature would be an added value for him/her, too.  Similarly, this also goes for a person who doesn’t have a Fan Page per se, but utilizes their profile as their business connection.  You can never be too careful, in my opinion.

Have you taken advantage of this feature or do you think it’s just a big waste of time?  I’d be curious to know your thoughts.

Leave a Comment

Want to add a picture to your comments here on Media Two Point {OH}? Upload your picture at Gravatar to make it happen.

Your comment may be nofollow free.

Previous post:

Next post: